Beauty, dupes, Reviews

Vera Mona Colour Switch Duo Dupe 

I’m sure you are all familiar with Vera Mona’s colour switch tools? For those of you who aren’t, it’s basically a tool that helps you clean your makeup brushes in between applications. For instance, if your using dark brown eyeshadow and decide you want to make it “pop” with royal blue, but you don’t want the brown pigment that’s left on the brush to mix with the blue color, you just use the Vera Mona color switch products to clean your brush without having to wet it. Genius right?! 

I received this Color Cleaner from Best Beauty Buys not too long ago to review. It’s a dupe for the Vera Mona Color Switch Duo. I do not have the Vera Mona one to compare this to, but I have been testing it out to let you ladies know how/if it works. 

I’ve used this when I was doing a smokey eye, so I could really put it to the test. As you can see from the pictures below, after I swirled my fluffy brush on the black part of the product, it cleaned the brush pretty well. The brush was stained due to the dark brown eyeshadow I used but when I swiped the brush on the back of my hand to see if any remaining color would come off, I was quite surprised to see there was none. I then tried it with a flat eyeshadow brush using black eyeshadow and sadly it didn’t clean it completely. I think perhaps because the brush isn’t fluffy, like the first one I tried. It did clean it well enough though, and I think the more you swirl, the cleaner it will be. It definitely doesn’t take away stains because there is no water involved, but it makes applying eyeshadow with just 2 brushes or even 1 brush SUCH a breeze. I used to use about 6 eye brushes to achieve one look, due to the colors left on the brushes and causing lighter eyeshadows to mix with darker eyeshadows that was left on the brush(es). But now with this nifty tool I can create almost any eye look with 3 brushes max, as I don’t have to wash them in between every eyeshadow shade I use. I just swirl them in this Color Cleaner and I don’t have to worry about lighter and darker eyeshadows mixing. 


I also tried it with my foundation brush because I was curious. It definitely doesn’t work well with cream based products, because the cream is just a magnet for all the eyeshadows the Color Cleaner has cleaned. I turned my black sponge around to clean my foundation brush and as you can see in the pictures below, it cleaned it well but again it doesn’t take away the stains. And if the sponge had eyeshadows on, it would of made my foundation brush even dirtier. For curiosity’s sake though, I tried it. It was harder to clean the foundation brush as it is much bigger than eyeshadow brushes. 


I would say this tool is more for eyeshadow brushes and not for face brushes. It is way too small to clean face brushes properly. 

If the product gets dirty (which it will, with all the cleaning it’s doing) you can simply take out the sponges, wash them thoroughly and leave them to dry. Once they’ve dried you simply put them back in the container. Easy peasy! Just make sure the black sponge is dried properly, else it won’t clean the brushes correctly. I washed mine and the black sponge wasn’t dried completely so when I used it again it just made my eyeshadow brush even dirtier because it was wet. Wet brush + black eyeshadows = eyelid mess. 
You might be wondering what the little white sponge in the middle is used for? Well, that, my lovlies, can be wet and used to make eyeshadows “pop”. Say you’re wanting to do a shimmery eye, but your shimmer eyeshadow is not very vibrant, you simply wet the little white sponge and put it in back into the container, wet you eyeshadow brush on it and then apply your shimmer shadow as usual. Due to you wetting the brush, the shimmer eyeshadow will appear much more vibrant. 

I just have to mention that using this tool to clean your brushes doesn’t mean you don’t have to wash your brushes anymore. This tool is not meant as a substitute for washing ones brushes. It’s only meant to clean the brush it between uses. I would suggest you wash your brushes at least twice a month, as well as washing the sponges of this product at least once per week or once every second week, depending on how much you use it. Please ladies. Keeping your makeup tools clean is very important. Brushes and sponges are a breeding ground for germs, and seeing that we use these tools on our faces, it is extremely important to clean and sanitize them correctly. 


Directions for use:

The directions are pretty clear on the back on the packaging. However, they don’t mention that you can wet the small white sponge in the middle to wet your brushes with and make some of your eyeshadows more vibrant. So just remember, the white sponge can be wet.

 

Do I think it’s worth it?

If you’re someone who wears eyeshadows often, then this is so worth it. You will get a LOT of use out of this little tool and it really does make applying eyeshadows easier. I’ve already been using it for 2 weeks straight and I honestly don’t know how I managed without it.

 
Tip: if you don’t like the packaging very much, simply bedazzle it. I am going to bedazzle mine as soon as I have a chance and I will post a picture on Instagram of the outcome. I’m so excited! 

You can purchase the Color Cleaner from Best Beauty Buys here. It is currently on sale for R191 . They also stock makeup brushes, makeup, beauty tools and more so definitely check them out! 


*Disclaimer: I received this product free of charge but that in no way affects my review. I value honesty and therefore I am always honest in my reviews. This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own. 

3 thoughts on “Vera Mona Colour Switch Duo Dupe ”

  1. This seems like a super useful product to have and travel-friendly. You could basically go on with two brushes on you and this product and you’d be good to go.
    I liked that you checked if it was useful to brushes besides those used for eye-shadow. I for one, love multi-purpose products.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for always commenting your thoughts ❤
      About the product – I know hey! So easy to use as well and pretty compact for travel. I love the middle sponge can be wet to make not so pigmented eyeshadows appear more vibrant and true to the color in the pan. Innovative beauty tools for the win!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

