Beauty, Makeup, Reviews

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Treatment Concealer Review 

I’m sure you’ve all seen the Maybelline Age Rewind concealers one or some other time online or on YouTube. It’s been quite hyped about and you might be wondering it is worth the hype? Continue reading to find out. 

What Maybelline says: 

“This super-concentrated treatment concealer features a micro-corrector applicator to help instantly erase dark circles and fine lines infused with goji berry and Haloxyl™. The eye area appears radiant and refreshed in no time.”


Ingredients (taken from the Maybelline website) :

G852364 1 Aqua/Water/Eau, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Isododecane, Glycerin, Peg-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Nylon-12, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclohexasiloxane, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Methylparaben, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Chlorphenesin, Ethylparaben, Aluminum Hydroxide, Peg-9, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Chrysin, Palmitoyl Tetr Apeptide-7. [+/- May Contain/Peut Contenir: Ci 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499/Iron Oxides] F.I.L. D44980/4 

Packaging:This concealer comes in a clear plastic tube so you can easily see the color. It has a sponge applicator upon a twist collar, which is quite easy to use even though the sponge is too big to apply close to your lash line. 


For some, the sponge is unhygienic (especially if you’re a makeup artist using the product on different people) and some has expressed concern about the sponge harboring bacteria over time. I agree with the harboring of bacteria, and that is why I apply the product onto a mixing palette (you can just use a small plate / old compact you cleaned if you do not have a mixing palette) and apply it with a concealer brush. That way, the sponge doesn’t touch your face so no oils etc gets transferred onto it. Be sure to properly sanitize your mixing palette or whatever else you are using to put the product on. If you don’t like this idea, you can simply remove the sponge using scissors and a pin. After a few times using the mixing palette I cringed because the sponge tip did bother me, so I removed it. As soon as I did I squished it between my fingers and was surprised because SO much product came out. I definitely think this sponge soaks up the product really fast. If you would like to remove your sponge, here’s how: Simply lift the sponge with a pin and cut. Make sure to get the bottom part of the sponge as well when you are lifting it using a pin. I would suggest a bigger, strong pin as a small pin is too small and much too weak. You don’t want the tip of the pin breaking off while you’re busy. Yikes! 


Consistency:

I enjoy the consistency of this concealer. It feels really light, smooth and creamy. It doesn’t clump and is gentle on the skin. 


Performance, Coverage & Longevity:

I’ve used this concealer for about 2 weeks and I chose the shade Neutralizer. It’s much too light to conceal so I used it over a small amount of orange color corrector. I love the finish it gave me. It’s very pigmented yet so lightweight and a tad bit moisturizing (at least on my skin). I also love the fact that it doesn’t look shimmery or cakey. I have small fine lines under my eyes, but I found that this concealer didn’t settle into the lines at all. It does dry pretty fast though, so you have to blend it out immediately. I also found that it’s best to build with this concealer to prevent creasing. Apply a little, blend and if you have dark areas that needs more coverage, apply some more over the first layer and blend. This way it doesn’t cake up or look patchy. The coverage is light to medium which is often the case with most concealers.


I apply this concealer in a triangular shape underneath my eyes then blend it out using my damp Beauty Blender. Sometimes I will apply my foundation over it, sometimes not. I would recommend using a setting powder over this concealer if you’re oily or crease easily. I use a large powder brush to apply a light layer of setting powder just to keep everything in place. When set with powder, it lasted 7.5 hours on me before it started to fade. In this current humid weather, that’s quite something! 

The active ingredients that make this a treatment concealer is the goji berry extract and haloxyl. Goji berry extract is a natural antioxidant and anti-aging ingredient. Haloxyl absorbs and eliminates colored blood pigments in the skin that are responsible for dark circles under the eyes. Maybelline claims that this concealer will not only cover the dark circles but treat the problem over time. I’ve only been using for about 2 weeks so I can’t really see the treatment results but so far it has been working quite nicely as a brightening concealer. As you can see in the 2 pictures (taken from the internet) below, it works wonderfully on lighter skin. 

Is It Worth The Hype?

To me yes, because it SO lightweight and does cover some of my dark circles when applied over my orange corrector. So far, it is one of the best drugstore brightening concealers I have tried (even better than my LA Girl Pale Yellow Corrector) , I just wish I chose the Honey shade instead. I think the shade Honey will be the perfect concealer + corrector color for me, so it’s been added to my wishlist. 


Shade Selection:

I really wish they had more shades. Currently there are only 6 shades available and zero options for darker skinned beauties. I really hope Maybelline will extend the colors in this range. 

Overall:

I think this concealer is better suited for Summer/humid weather. In Winter, my skin tends to get really dry, so I definitely won’t be reaching for this concealer then. I also wouldn’t recommend this to you if you have extremely dry under eyes, because even though it was a tad bit moisturizing to me (I have combination skin) that might not be the case for you. If you have combination skin and you’re looking for something super light that won’t crease, I would highly recommend you give this concealer a go! If you’re looking for something to brighten the eye area I would suggest the Neutralizer shade (for medium skin) and the Brightener shade (for fair skin). 

Where To Purchase:

Unfortunately this product isn’t available in South African stores. I don’t know if we will receive this product in future, but I hope we do. South Africa is always delayed with drugstore products and I often get frustrated because brands such as Maybelline, Loreal, Revlon, and Max Factor among others releases new products quite regularly in the US and other countries, but we often never even get those products. Lucky for us, Best Beauty Buys sells the Maybelline Age Rewind on their website. They sell 100% authentic makeup, so rest assured you aren’t buying a fake. You can purchase any of the 6 Maybelline Age Rewind concealers for R350 on their website here.

Happy shopping! 

Disclaimer: I received this concealer from Best Beauty Buys free of charge but that in no way affected my review. This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own. 

16 thoughts on “Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Treatment Concealer Review ”

      1. I agree very few colors in the range. I would say that’s true for their other concealers as well. 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

