Beauty, Body Care, Product Empties, Reviews, Skincare

Product Empties 

For today’s post I thought I’d do something a little different. I rounded up some of my body and skincare empties and thought I would do a blog post on them and rate each product according to how well it worked for me. 

Oh So Heavenly Pink Cashmere Body Powder I got this as a gift from a family member. It wasn’t the worst powder I’ve used but it wasn’t the best either. It didn’t last long on me at all and also didn’t really assist in keeping my décolleté dry. It did have a nice scent, and I think if there were more scents available I would give it a try to see how they would fare. This particular range is not available in stores anymore, but I’m not 100% sure as some stores still stock older ranges. 

Rating: 2/5 

You can find Oh So Heavenly products at Clicks stores. 

Garnier Mineral Fresh Roll-On Deodorant Firstly, I do not wear roll-on because it feels very wet and takes a while to dry. I prefer using the aerosol version because it dries instantly. My sister however, purchased this for me by mistake not knowing I wanted the aerosol, so I decided to use it. I must say I was quite surprised. The roll-on version of this kept me fresh and smelling good all day. Usually the aerosol version lasts about 10 hours before the smell evaporates, but not this one. Dove Go Fresh Cucumber And Green Tea aerosol deodorant will always be my favorite, but this has become a very close second. I’ve repurchased already, simply because of how good this worked for me. Once it does dry, it doesn’t feel gooey anymore (I hate that gooey wet feeling under your arms). It does stain your black/dark clothing, but there is an invisible one that is formulated not to stain your clothes. I’ve tried the invisible one and am pleased to say that it does not stain your clothes and is, in fact, invisible. 

Rating: 4.5/5 

You can purchase Garnier products from almost any grocery/pharmacy store. Stores I know of that sells Garnier products are Clicks, Dischem, Pick n Pay, and Checkers. 

Clinique Take The Day Off Makeup RemoverI received a mini version of this makeup remover with the purchase of some other Clinique products I bought a while back. I forgot I had it and when I ran out of makeup remover wipes, I decided to try this out to remove my makeup. One word: AMAZING! This stuff is so potent! It removed my waterproof mascara and eyeliner with such ease. It even removed the glitter I applied to my eyes without having to rub super hard. It doesn’t feel greasy or oily and it doesn’t burn or irritate my skin at all. I have extremely sensitive eyes, so much so that majority of makeup removers leaves my eyes itchy and irritated, even olive oil and coconut oil. I’m so glad that this product doesn’t irritate my eyes at all. As you can see, I have a teensy bit left and I’m keeping it for a day when I do intense eye makeup with glitter and the whole shebang! 

This product also removes face makeup as well as liquid lipsticks with great ease. I didn’t have to rub and rub and r… – I think you get the point – repeatedly at my lips to remove my liquid lipstick, which is quite great. I hate rubbing my lips too much because I find that doing so makes my lips feel a bit stingy the next day. 

Rating: 5/5 definitely going to purchase a full size of this 

You can purchase Clinique products from Red Square, Foschini, and Truworths stores. 


The Body Shop Wild Argan Oil Hand Cream I have extremely, extremely dry hands and most hand creams feel greasy and makes my hands feel like theres a film of product stuck on it. I cannot, cannot, stand products that makes my skin feel greasy. I cringe internally every time I use something that leaves an oily grease like residue on my skin. I got this hand cream from my sister who told me to try it because she knows how much I hate oily hand creams. I was so so happy with it after use. It left my hands feeling soft and hydrated but not greasy or “slippery”. Most hand creams I’ve tried sort of evaporates after about an hour, but this one kept my hands hydrated and soft for about 3+ hours. I also really love the smell. It’s not too overpowering which is nice. I often get headaches when I use a product with a very strong scent. I’m planning on picking up a few more of these hand creams in different scents to see if they all work this well. 

Rating: 5/5 

You can purchase The Body Shop products from The Body Shop and selected Clicks stores. 


Elizabeth Arden Peel And Reveal Post Peel Finishing LotionI loved my Elizabeth Arden Peel And Reveal mask! It smelled gross but it was so satisfying when you peel it off. I applied this after removing the mask but this unfortunately stung my skin. I don’t know exactly why, and I tried it again and again but each time it stung so bad. Perhaps it contains something that is harsh on my skin. I really wanted to like this because it has such a thin consistency, I thought it would work great for me. Unfortunately that wasn’t the case. 

It’s not exactly empty, but I’ve stopped using it, so I added it to the empties pile. 

Rating: 0/5 

You can purchase Elizabeth Arden products from Foshini, Truworths, Woolworths, & Red Square. 


Neutrogena Visibly Clear Oil Free Moisturizer I’ll admit, I bought this on a whim simply because it said ‘oil free’ and ‘evens out skintone’ *kicks myself*. I used this for about 3 weeks but didn’t notice any difference to my skin whatsoever. It evaporates very quickly and is very thin, almost gel like. It made my skin feel a little tingly, but only for a little while. I had to reapply throughout the day after Whudu (ablution: a ritual performed in Islam in order to pray) and sometimes I was just too lazy. It doesn’t contain any SPF either, so I had to apply a sunscreen and then this. Personally, I don’t like to layer many products over each another, especially if I’m also wearing foundation and primer. Layering those 4 products over each other just made my skin feel too clogged. This product also contains parabens, which I wish it didn’t. I won’t be repurchasing this. It didn’t do anything and was a miss for me. 

Rating: 1/5 

You can purchase Neutrogena products from Clicks, Dischem and Pick n Pay stores. 

And that’s it, my skin and body care empties. Let me know if you would like to see more of these kinds of posts. 

4 thoughts on “Product Empties ”

Leave a Reply

