Drugstore Makeup, Makeup, Reviews

ELF High Definition Undereye Setting Powder Review 

I’m sure many of you know the YouTuber, Shaanxo. She used to rave about the ELF High Definition Undereye Setting Powder, and I’ve wanted to try it ever since. I was pretty stoked because I recently received it in a press drop and have put it to the test. Let’s see if it is worth the hype. 

Product Description (from ELF cosmetics

“This light-diffusing powder camouflages fine lines, dark circles and imperfections, perfect for on camera or everyday wear. The silky powder adds a velvety finish ideal for wearing alone or setting in cream concealer. The Vitamin C & K infused formula helps to restore and strengthen skin for a revitalized appearance.”

Packaging: 

This product comes in a small square-shaped jar along with a small flat brush. It has a sifter when you open it, meant to hold the powder back from spilling everywhere. It has a small plastic cover (over the sifter) which I put back on after I used it to keep the jar and my makeup bag clean, as the powder naturally spills. The jar is really tiny, similar – in size – to the Essence brow pomade. You get 0.04oz of product. 


Texture: 

This powcer has a thinner consistency than that of RCMA/Mac. The texture is smooth and finely milled. It is white, but has a slight pink tint and contains very fine shimmers. 

My Thoughts: 

First off, I did not expect this product to be so small. It is honestly so tiny. The brush is also way too small to set your under eyes. I tried it, but it didn’t work well. It’s too dense and doesn’t pick up product well. It also takes so, so long to set your undereyes using this brush because of how small it is. I’ve since used it as a lip brush, and personally I think it is much better suited to be used that way. It could also be used to apply gel liner. 

I always, always set my undereye concealer with powder because I crease easily. When I first opened this product and had a look at the powder, I was really intimidated by seeing shimmer particles in it. I didn’t know what to expect, but I tried it anyway. 

The sifter on the product is supposed to help with dispensing the amount you need, but it unfortunately failed at that. I apply my setting powder with a Beauty Blender, but because the sifter didn’t work well, I had to decant some of the powder into the lid and it ended up being real messy. Because the lid is small, my blender didn’t pick up enough product. I then decanted some product onto a mixing palette and only then did I find my blender picked up product evenly. The next day I tried using a medium powder brush, but again, I had to decant the product. I decided to use a really small brush, and opted for a fluffy eyeshadow brush. It worked much better because it is much smaller compared to the powder brush and beauty blender. 

I used my fluffy eye shadow brush to lightly sweep some powder underneath my eyes and I immediately sighed with relief as the shimmers weren’t visible. It set my under eye concealer well and has a (very) slight blurring and brightening effect. It doesn’t feel heavy/cakey and kept my mascara and eyeliner on the bottom lash line from melting/smudging. I did however notice that if you use too much of this powder, it settles into fine lines immediately and ends up looking very unflattering. I strongly suggest you do not bake with this product, as it will settle into fine lines and make them super aparent (at least that’s what happend to me). There isn’t too much product in the jar, so I imagine if you bake with this, the product will last you less than a week. 

As you can see from the swatch below, the shimmers is not visable in daylight. It is meant to brighten and diffuse light rather than to appear as an actual shimmer. However, the evening when I was under artificial light, I looked in the mirror and I could see all the shimmers. The product contains silica and that is one of the ingredients that gives flash back in photography. I proceeded to take a picture with flash and sure enough, it had flash back. So if you are going out in the evening or taking pictures with flash, I would suggest using a different powder. 


Overall:

I think this is a good enough under eye setting powder for everyday. I’ve incorporated it into my everyday makeup repertoire but only apply it during the day (as the shimmers isn’t visible then). It is absolutely prudent to use a very light hand when applying this – less is more with this product. Also, the powder is meant to set your concealer, not replace it. The powder itself doesn’t give you any coverage. 

If you are a darker skinned beauty, I would suggest you give this a skip. Because the powder is white and doesn’t apply completely translucent, it will wash you out and look grey, and we don’t want that. For darker skin, a yellow toned powder will give a beautiful brightening effect, and we do want that! 

Where To Purchase: 

You can purchase this product from accessories by bwalya on Instagram. It retails for R130. Now, I know the product is small, but it is only meant to be used underneath your eyes, not to set your entire face. I’ve used mine for 2 weeks now – using very litte and a very light hand – and I still have about less than half a jar left. I think with using this product everyday – again, with a light hand – it should last you about a month. 


Disclaimer: I recieved this powder from Accessories By Bwalya free of charge, but that in no way influenced my opinion on the product. This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own. 

4 thoughts on “ELF High Definition Undereye Setting Powder Review ”

Leave a Reply

