Makeup Brushes, Reviews

7 Piece Mini Multi Coloured Unicorn Brush Set Review 

The hype around unicorn brushes is currently very real. I’ve already reviewed the 8 Piece Rose Gold Unicorn Brush Set, so today I will be reviewing the 7 piece mini set from Best Beauty BuysBefore I get started, can we just take a few minutes to appreciate how super cute this brush set is?! The handles are so beautiful. It’s unlike any other unicorn brush sets I’ve seen thus far. It reminds me of rainbows. There was some shedding when I washed these brushes, but it was minimal. However, when I washed them the water ran a little black/dark grey, which means these brushes were quite dirty. Don’t worry, the dirt usually comes from the factory where the brushes has been manufactured. I have to add, when I received the brushes I took blog pictures first, and as you can see, the bristles doesn’t look dirty in the slightest. This is the case with all beauty tools. It doesn’t look dirty, but manufacturing, packing, dust, etc ecauses dirt to build up within the bristles. You might not see it, but it is there. Hence why I always, always wash my beauty tools before use. I urge and encourage you all to do the same, no matter which store the brushes/tools are purchased from. 

As usual, I will go through each brush and how they worked for me/what I used them for. 

Angled Brush: I used this brush to apply my powder contour and bronzer. It picked up product a little difficult, but it did a decent job at blending out both products. 

Small Powder Brushes: As you can see, both of these brushes are exactly the same. Because the one has pink bristles, it’s difficult to see how much blush you pick up, so I used the yellow one for blush instead. It didn’t feel prickly and applied my powder blush well. I did have trouble applying baked blushes with this brush, but it works well for normal, powder blush. 

I used the pink bristled brush to apply powder all over my face and under my eyes. It is not a very fluffy brush, so it takes a bit more time to set your entire face. However, it does get the job done and feels soft on the face. 


Small Fan Brush: How cute is this mini fan brush though? I used it to apply my powder highlighter. It doesn’t pick up a lot of product, which means you have to build the application to suit your preference. Because this brush doesn’t pick up a lot of product (yes, even when you swirl) I used it to apply highlighter on my nose and it applies the perfect amount. I don’t like a super shiny nose highlight. I like my nose highlight to be natural, barely there and not obvious. This brush applied the perfect amount with 1-2 swipes and I adore how small it is. 

Flat Eyeshadow Brush: I used this to set my eyeshadow primer. It is way too big to apply eyeshadows to my eyes. It is also very flimsy, so it makes eyeshadow application quite challenging. It isn’t fluffy, but sort of flat, so blending is also rather difficult. I did howe used it to apply highlighter to my cupids bow and used the tip to apply highlighter underneath my brows. 

Angled Eyeshadow Brush: This brush is also too big for my crease. I tried using it, but it blends my eyeshadow too far and too wide. It is also quite flimsy, but does pick up product well. It isn’t fluffy but rather flat, so I used it to apply powder contour to my nose. I found it applied my nose powder contour decently because of how flat it is. It prevented me from contouring “out of the lines”. It doesn’t work with cream contour, but does a decent job with powder contour.  

Small Tapered Brush:The bristles of this brush is rather long, but it is very dense. I used it to “draw” my cream contour lines. I also used it to carve out my eyebrows, as it is dense enough and has a slight tip. 

Overall:

This set is beautiful and definitely a conversation starter when you pull it out of your handbag. Yes, it cannot be used to apply a full face of makeup, but I like how small it is. When I am going to a special event and I have a small clutch bag that cannot hold many items, I throw in my cellphone, lipstick, powder foundation (for touch ups, because you know, pictures) , micro mini blender, mini highlighter and the powder and highlighter brush from this set. It fits perfectly. When I open my clutch there is no items spilling out, because everything fits well without being forced/squished. 
Where To Purchase: 

You can purchase this set from Best Beauty Buys here. It is on sale for R220. 

There is also an 8 piece mini set available in 3 color options: 

  • Rose Gold 
  • Gold 
  • White 

The 8 piece sets are also on sale for R220 per set. How cute is the rose gold and white set? *happy sigh*. If you aren’t into mini sets, you can check out the normal sized sets on their website. They are all currently on sale and there are a variety of different styles available. 

Disclaimer: I recieved this brush set from Best Beauty Buys free of charge, but that in no way influenced my opinion. This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own. 

1 thought on “7 Piece Mini Multi Coloured Unicorn Brush Set Review ”

Leave a Reply

