Beauty, Drugstore Makeup, Makeup, Reviews

Essence ‘Me & My Umbrella’ Mini Contouring Set Review 

If you follow me on Instagram, you might of recently seen my Essence Cosmetics haul featuring their new products that released last month. As I was swatching testers, I spotted the new, freshly unpacked ‘Me & My Umbrella‘ Trend Edition. Of course I wanted to see if there was anything interesting I could add to my haul, so I checked it out. Unfortunately there were no testers for the blush or contour duo sticks. I checked online swatches (don’t you just love google) and the blush looked way too light for me, so I passed on it. There were testers of the lipsticks and 2 eyeshadows, but the shades were just kinda ‘meh’ to me, so I passed on those as well. The brow powder pencils didn’t seem like something I would use, so I passed. I don’t wear nail polish often, so I never buy them from Trend Editions. The gloss was pretty cheap looking, so again, I passed. The brush was really cute, but I have so many brushes I really didn’t see a need for this specific brush in my collection. Nothing really tickled my fancy but I really liked how small and cute the mini contour set was. Online swatches of the duo didn’t look too bad, so I went ahead and added it to my basket, hoping for the best. 

Fist of all, how cute is this EssenceMe & My Umbrella’‘ mini contouring set in 01 Let A Smile Be Your Umbrella On A Rainy Day. It’s so tiny. I’ve been totally obsessed with mini products of late. I honestly don’t know how this obsession came about. I guess it’s because mini products can often fit even in the tiniest of purses. 

Packaging: This set comes in a little cardboard box that slides open. The pencil’s packaging is plastic and has a transparent top. The bottom of the pencil’s are twistable which is quite handy, as it means you won’t have to sharpen the product. I mean, it is already so small. Each pencil is 0.05/1.5g of product. The side of the box has instructions on how to use the product, but I personally think the instructions are very vague, especially for beginners who knows nothing about highlighting and contouring. I think it would’ve been much better if Essence included a small little booklet explaining the basics of highlighting and contouring. 

My Thoughts: 

Besides the Smashbox contour trio pencils, this is the first other contouring pencils I’ve tried. For those of you who’ve tried the Smashbox contouring pencils, I’m sure you can agree that it is really great. It blends beautifully and just melts into your skin, in the best way. I didn’t know what to expect with this product because I often find that most Essence products are hit and miss. Nonetheless, after I took pictures of it I went straight ahead and started testing away. 
I must say, the pencils are very smooth. It applies gently and doesn’t tug on your skin. The contour color is very, very cool toned and a little waxy. I expected it to be blotchy, but that wasn’t the case. When I blended it out, it just kinda blended away and my skin looked grey. I think this might be because I have medium tan skin. I noticed that when I blended with a beauty blender or a very dense brush, the color just sort of blended out … to nothing. It blends better with a softer angled brush. I tried blending with my ring finger and I personally liked the outcome way better. 
In the below swatches you will see that the contour shade doesn’t have enough warmth for my skin tone. The little heart is a heavy swatch and next to that is the product blended out. Can you see how cool toned the contour is on me? way too light. 
The highlighter shade, on the other hand, is really pretty, don’t you agree? It’s soft and pigmented. I blended it using my ring finger and the result was beautiful. It is a bit sparkly but not glittery. The texture doesn’t feel rough or hard on your skin and it is buildable. Unlike the LA Girl Hi-lite sticks, this one doesn’t feel so waxy and dries to a semi-matte finish on the face. The shade is pretty universal, it doesn’t wash me out like most lighter highlighters do. I think this will suit most skin tones, from NC20 – NC44. Both products lasted about 4 hours on me before fading. I would suggest setting the contour color with some powder, to make it last a bit longer. The highlighter doesn’t need to be set as it still looks pretty once faded, but it is up to you and your personal preference. 


Overall: 

I think this set is pretty nice for beginners just getting into contouring, or for someone wanting a little contour set to take with them when traveling. It’s pretty easy to use, much easier than cream products. It’s also really affordable, so that’s a plus. The only downside is, this set only comes in one shade. Because of this the contour shade will be too cool toned for most skin tones. It also doesn’t help that there is no testers available to swatch before you purchase. From my experience using this, I would say the contour shade will suit NC20 – NC35 skin tones, but bare in mind, I am no expert. If you are very fair and the color is too warm on you, you could try toning it down with a dab of powder. 

Where To Purchase: 

The ‘Me & My Umbrella‘ Trend Edition is available from Dis-chem stores. The mini contour set retails for R64.95. If you want to get your hands on it you best hurry, because Trend Editions usually sell out fast. 

I’ve recently noticed on quite a few occasions now,  that Clicks and Dis-chem doesn’t stock the same Trend Editions anymore. Clicks just unpacked the ‘Little Brow Monsters’ Brow Monsters’ , and Dis-chem has the ‘Me & My Umbrella‘ Trend Edition. I’m not complaining though, because it means we get to shop 2 Trend Editions instead of waiting MONTHS for the next one to be unpacked. Smart move, Essence. Smart move. 

I went to Clicks to check out the ‘Little Brow Monsters’ Trend Edition but nothing really stood out to me. There were testers of the brow powder trio and when I swatched it it was extremely sheer. The formula didn’t feel very good either. The double ended eyebrow brush caught my eye but when I took a look at it, I saw the angled side is quite bulky and thick, which means you won’t get any precision when doing your brows. I was disappointed to say the least. This entire Trend Edition was a miss for me. If you however like something in this Trend Edition, you can pick it up from Clicks stores. 

Thank you for reading! 

4 thoughts on “Essence ‘Me & My Umbrella’ Mini Contouring Set Review ”

Leave a Reply

