Beauty, dupes, Makeup, Reviews

Juvia’s Place The Masquerade Palette Review 

I’m super excited to be reviewing the Juvia’s Place The Masquerade Mini Palette for you guys.

Ever since I saw swatches of the eyeshadow palettes on Jaclyn Hill’s SnapChat, I just knew, I needed to have it. They looked so buttery and gorgeous and I loved every. single. shade! Yes, even the bold ones. *shrill fangirl screaming* 
“Juvia’s Place own­er, Chichi Eburu, has brought black beau­ty to the cos­met­ics indus­try in a way nev­er seen before. The Nige­rian-born wife and moth­er of two launched her cos­met­ic com­pa­ny just a little over 2 years ago. Juvia’s Place is known for their bold eyeshadow colors. All of the palettes has an images of the Egyp­tian Queen, Nefer­ti­ti, on the cover. Nefertit was the first Egyptian African Queen.”

“Inspired by African Festivities filled with enomourous joy and spiritual activities. The Bold Colors Represent costumes used in festivals. The nude and browns represent the African soil and environments. The perfect balance of bolds and neutrals.”  

I love that the palettes was inspired by African ceremonies and festivities. I think Juvia’s Place palettes has a really rich and unique backstory, it isn’t just any random art work and shadows thrown together. They’re representing the rich African culture in such a beautiful way. 

Juvia’s Place is getting more and more popular in the online beauty community.  Due to the popularity of the palettes, specifically the Masquerade Palette, Juvia’s created a mini version as well. 

The Masquerade palette comes in 2 sizes, mini and large. Only the size of the palette and the size of the pans differs, but not the actual shades.
Because this is a “mini” palette, when I received it I expected it to be, well, mini. But to my absolute delight, it was actually much bigger than what I was expecting. In fact, there’s nothing “mini” about it (14.5cm x 14.5cm). I would say the palette as well as the eyeshadow pans are average in size. 

Packaging: As per Juvia’s Place style, this palettes packaging is bright magenta and yellow coloured cardboard. It has the ingredients listed at the back. It feels really sturdy in my hand. Unfortunately it doesn’t contain a mirror, but I don’t mind as is makes the palette light and easy to travel with. The pans are set out really well and not too close to one another. It contains 16 shades all together. 5 mattes, 2 mattes with microglitter, and 9 metallics. 

Shade Selection

  • Chi – Royal Blue
  • Mali – Green
  • Dalia – Electric Blu
  • Zola – Sea Blue
  • Makeda – Purple Shimmer
  • Zobo – Maroon Matte
  • Calabar – Maroon Shimmer
  • Bori – Reddish Pink Matte Colour Mixed with Gold Shimmer 

  • Giza – Champagne Shimmer
  • Burkina – Brown Matte
  • Cairo – Matte Orange Mixed with Gold Shimmer
  • Ada – Brick Reddish Brown
  • Dahia – Beige Shimmer
  • Zulu – Dark Orange Matte
  • Casablanca – Gold Shimmer
  • Fulani – Darker Brown

These shades are all exclusive to the Masquerade Palettes only, save for Casalanca, which is sold individually as well. 

Texture & Pigmentation: 

I am completely smitten with the texture and feel of these shadows. Some of the matte shades are a bit on the drier side, yet still blends out beautifully. The shimmers are my absolute favorite. They’re all mind-blowingly pigmented and they feel soft and buttery. I am highly impressed. They’re also incredibly vibrant, which is what the owner had in mind – so the shades could show up on darker skinned beauties. All the shadows are firmly packed in the pans, so they do not have much fallout when you dip your brush in. The glitter shades do not feel gritty either. The eyeshadows are formulated without parabens or mineral oil and of course, they’re cruelty free. 

Performance: 

A lot of eyeshadow palettes I’ve seen lately are very neutral, and most, if not all, have the same shades in them. The Juvia’s Palettes however, have a beautiful twist to them. The shades are unique, bold and fun. Sure, it can be intimidating because of all the bright colors, but the palette includes neutral warm, wearable shades in the bottom 2 rows as well. The mix of bolds and neutral warm shades work very well together, and can balance out almost any look you create. When I applied the shades to my eyes, it was so creamy and glided on my lids with almost no powder kick up. The shimmer shades does apply best when applied with your finger, but (for those of you who don’t like using your fingers to apply shadows) it works well enough with a dense shader brush, to pack on color. Juvia’s claim that the shimmers shades can be used wet or dry. I’ve tried them both ways, and whilst using the shimmers wet does intensify it a tad bit more, it is pigmented enough to use dry as well. I didn’t have any issues in blending and diffusing the shadows together, and again, I was left in absolute awe. Especially since Juvia’s Place is an indie brand, and not really ‘high-end’ per say. 

The shade ‘Giza’ is the only shimmer shade that’s a bit crumbly, because of how soft it is. ‘Bori’ , ‘Fulani’ , ‘Burkina’ and ‘Zobo’ were the hardest shades to swatch, but when applying it on the eye with a meduim dense blending/fluffy brush, it turned out pretty good. Juvia’s suggests using a nude/white base to prime your eyes, so the colors can show up as vibrant as they are in the pans. I used my Smashbox eyeshadow primer and applied some light concealer over it, to create a light base. It did make the shadows appear brighter and more vibrant. For everyday though, I just used some ELF (clear) eye primer because I didn’t want my eyes to look too intense. I then applied the shade ‘Zulu’ in my crease very lightly, followed by ‘Burkani’ all over my lid. I love that combo for everyday as it just gives my eyes enough dimension without looking overdone. The next day I used the same combo, but also added the shade ‘Makeda’ to my lower lash line for a pop of color. All of the shadows lasted a good 8.5 hours on me with primer. Without primer, I found the vibrancy of the shimmers to fade throughout the day. 

Dupes: 

I love a great dupe! I know you guys do too, so I found 2 in this palette. 

The first is the shade ‘Zulu’ , which is a close dupe for Anastasia Beverly Hills eyeshadow in shade ‘Realgar’ from the Modern Renaissance palette. 

The texture is different and it’s not exact dupes, but it’s close enough. 

The second is the shade ‘Zobo’ , which is almost an exact dupe for Anastasia Beverly Hills eyeshadow in  ‘Love Letter’ , also from the Modern Renaissance palette. 

Overall:

I am in love with this palette. It is such a hit! 

If you’re low on neutrals but also want to try some fun, vibrantly bright eyeshadows, I would definitely recommend this palette. If you’re afraid of wearing bolder shades, don’t fret, because the Juvia’s Place Nubian Palette will be right up your alley. 

There are currently 4 eyeshadow palettes available:

  1. The Nubian 
  2. The Nubian 2 
  3. The Masquerade 
  4. The Saharan  

A 5th and 6th eyeshadow palette from Juvia’s is in production, and should be released soon. 

There are 2 blush palettes available: 

  1. The Saharan Blush Palette Vol. 1 
  2. The Saharan Blush Palette Vol. 2 

There is also an eyeliner set available, as well as brushes and single shadows, which is great, as there is something for everyone! 


Where To Purchase: 

You can purchase Juvia’s Place palettes from Samika here. She sells 100% authentic products and her service is great! Check out her website for tons of other international make-up and skincare brands. Use my code ‘stardust’ for 10% any of your purchases. 

Disclaimer: Samika kindly gave me a R500 voucher free of charge, to use on anything on her website. I immediately opened the Juvia’s tab and knew that was what I wanted. I then proceded to ordering it, and payed the outstanding R300 (the mini masquerade palette is R800) and an additional R65 for courier. Even though I only payed R365 for this palette, it does not influence my opinion on the product. This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

Thank you, Samika, for the voucher and great service. 

7 thoughts on “Juvia’s Place The Masquerade Palette Review ”

  1. I’m dying to own a Juvia’s place palette…the Saharan has my name all over it! Also the modern Renaissance…. *sigh* So much wants, so little money. lol.

    Awesome review!! Just makes me fall even more in love with this brand. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my word. You have no idea how many wants and how little money LOL. every single day I add something more to my wishlist. I sometimes feel overwhelmed with everything that I want, it’s crazy!
      You should definitely save up for a Juvias palette. You’ll only understand how amazing it is once you’ve used it yourself ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

