Makeup, Reviews

Cover FX Custom Enhancer Drops Sunlight Review 

Okay, can we all just take a full minute to freak out for this product!? *furiously fans self* I’ve had it on my wishlist ever since it released June of last year. After seeing Jaclyn Hill rock it in one of her video’s, I wanted it even more, if that was even possible. 

I never, ever thought I would actually own this beauty, but thanks to The Makeup Network, I was finally able to mark it off my wishlist. *sheds a happy tear* 


So, what is Cover FX Custom Enhancer Drops you ask? Well, here is a little ‘product description’ taken from their website

“Ultra-concentrated illuminating and bronzing drops that allow you to customize your ideal glow with a liquid metal or sunkissed finish. Available in nine universal shades, including seven illuminators and two matte bronzers, these customizable drops can be used to create a buildable highlight or sunkissed tint. Use them alone for a light reflective strobing or bronzing effect even on top of powder, or add them to your favorite liquid foundation or skincare product for an all-over glow. Formulated with a high concentration of ultra-refined pearls, the two bronzing drops (Sunkissed and Sunset) offer a natural matte finish and the seven illuminating drops produce a liquid metal finish. The more drops you use, the more luminosity or bronze you’ll get, allowing you to customize your glow.” 


Ingredients:

Halo, Rose Gold, Blossom, Candlelight, Celestial, Moonlight, Sunlight Ingredients:

Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Mica, Hydrogenated Styrene/Isoprene Copolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol May Contain/Peut Contenir: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491) 

These products does not contain Parabens, Sulfates, Phthalates, Fragrance, Gluten, Mineral Oil, Talc. 


Packaging: This product comes in a 15ml/0.5fl oz glass bottle with a dropper. The glass bottle feels so luxurious. The dropper makes it easy to control the amount of product you disperse. I must say, the product is much bigger than I was expecting. It comes in a beautiful metallic box. 

Formula: 

You might think this formula to be similar to the usual liquid/cream highlighters, and I kind of expected it to be similar in some degree too, but wow, it really isn’t. The formula is very lightweight and the texture is quite thin. a little goes a long way. It can be sheered down or built up easily. It’s so unique and is unlike anything else I own. It’s almost like a dry oil. It’s so incredibly, unbelievably pigmented, that initial application can be a bit scary. Because of the liquid consistency being so thin though, it’s such a breeze to blend/sheer out. It’s also really easy to mix with an array of liquid/cream products of your choosing. The product takes about 15 seconds to dry, and once it does it feels like powder. It has an intense sheen to it, with really fine shimmers. When it dries the finish is a tad pearly with some (really fine) shimmer. It doesn’t lift throughout the day, nor does it smudge or transfer, unlike most other liquid highlighters I’ve tried. What’s amazing is even though it doesn’t budge or transfers, it stays glowy and intense throughout the entire day. The sheen stays put even after the product dries. *closes eyes whilst deeply contemplating the ‘glow’* . 


My Experience: 

I don’t know where to start! I’ve been using this non stop ever since I got it a bit over a week ago. I didn’t know which color to choose from the shade selection, but finally settled on Sunlight, which was described as a ‘soft, glowing gold’. I was so releaved when I got the product and swatched it, because it suited my skin really well. I have a warm yellow with a tinge of orange undertone, and this color worked out perfectly. I didn’t detect a smell when using this, so that’s always a plus It does look a little white on the picture when blended out, but it’s more of a golden, pearly sheen. It looks almost foiled when swatched, so it does look different depending on how the light hits it.

I tried this over and under my makeup, and was blown away by the results. 

I added one drop to my foundation and BB cream for a dewy look, and I love love loved how it turned out! It didn’t change the formula or compromise the wear time of my foundation/BB cream, which I was a bit worried about. I also mixed it with my primer and moisturizer, both times the result was beautiful. On days when I don’t feel like wearing foundation or anything, I just pat a bit of concealer on my under eye area and add a bit of this product to my bare cheekbones, chin, cupids bow and the centre of my nose, blending it out for a sheer, healthy glow. I didn’t think it would look good on bare skin, but it does. My skin looked radiant, healthy and just – I don’t want to use the word youthful because I am still young, but youthful fits this criteria.  I have NC43 skin, and when I went into direct sunlight I noticed this product added a beautiful warm balance to my skin, if that makes sense. It isn’t too warm, nor too light; the color is just perfect. I was completely smitten, so I decided to wear a full face of makeup, including full coverage foundation and silicone based primer, just to see how this product would fare. Usually, when I’m wearing a full face of makeup, liquid highlighters tend to slide all around my face/move around my foundation on that area, but not not this one – nah-uh. After applying all products to my face, baking and dusting off excess powder, I applied this product and was completely shook as it didn’t disrupt/move the products underneath it, nor did it cling to powder/make that area look patchy. You can apply this over 6 layers of other products, and it won’t disrupt it at all, nor will it look heavy or cakey. It does not budge ladies, not even through sweat! *invites you all to be shook with me* 


I tried this on my eyes as well, by adding a tiny dot to the centre of my lid after primer, and then blending it out. It looks beautiful and stayed put, but I would prefer to wear it this way in Summer. 

Since metallic lipsticks are all the rage right now and me only owning 2 (shame) I decided to use this on my lips too. I applied it over Huda Beauty liquid lipstick in Venus and it gave an instant metallic look. Like I mentioned previously, it has a warm undertone, so it created a warm metallic lip which I was actually quite fond of. What I love about it is the fact that you can sheer it out as much as you want. On one occasion I just dabbed a bit in the centre of my lips and found that I liked that result much better as it wasn’t too intense. 

The only con to this product is it dries quickly if you’re using it alone (unmixed). It dries after 15 seconds, and once it does it’s difficult to blend, so I would suggest applying and blending little bits at a time, to insure flawless application. If you don’t blend it out in time, it can look patchy or increase skin texture, which is something none of us want. So just be sure to apply one side of your face at a time, and blending out well. When using it mixed with foundations/primers/moisturizers, it doesn’t dry as fast. 

For all my oily girls, this product won’t increase oil on your face. I tried it on a friend who has oily skin. I mixed one drop with her matte foundation, and it gave her face a matte finish with a sort of lit from within glow. It didn’t make her look greasy and didn’t feel tacky on her skin at all, because again, the formula is just amazing and is suitable for all skin types! 

I wanted to be extra, so I added one drop to my body lotion. After applying it, it left my legs with a warm, luminous sheen. *low key feeling like Amrezy* 


How To Apply:

For a glow that screams HELLO  you can put one drop directly to your face and blend it out with your fingertip. I found this way too intense for my liking, so I add a drop to my mixing plate and use a small stippling brush to apply. If I’m going for a natural glow, I apply some to the back of my hand and sheer it out by dabbing a bit, then lightly tapping the bristles of my small stippling brush into it and stippling it on my cheekbones, forehead, cupids bow, centre of my nose and my chin. I also like applying it with my beauty blender, as it “diffuses” beautifully into my other products. 

Longevity: 

This stuff is so potent! It lasted for 10+ hours on me. Before removing my makeup my highlighter was still super fleeky. *puts on shades* 

Shade Selection: 

  • Celestial – glistening pearl 
  • Moonlight – shimmering beige 
  • Sunlight – soft glowing gold 
  • Candlelight – golden bronze
  • Halo – holographic multi-dimensional soft lilac 
  • Blossom – soft, pearlescent pink 
  • Rose Gold – pink bronze 
  • Sunset – deep bronze 
  • Sunkissed – light bronze 



Overall: 

Blown. Away. 

Seriously, I haven’t been able to stop using this product. It is so beautiful and versatile. I am smitten and so glad that this product is worth the crazy hype. You can use it over or under foundation as well as over powder products, which is rare for liquid highlighters. I know, It is expensive, but it is honestly, 100% worth the money. You need so little product that this should last you more than a year. Also, Cover FX is cruelty free and 100% vegan! *starts slow clap* 


Where To Purchase: 

You can purchase this and loads of other Cover FX products from The Makeup Network here. It was on sale for R650 each, but I’m not sure when the sale ends/if it has ended already. Their products are ALL authentic, so rest assured the good prices are just that; good prices. Usually good products going for good prices is sometimes an indication of fake products, but I can vouch for The Makeup Network being 100% authentic. They even shared pictures of their Sephora receipts on their social media. They currently have some sale on certain products so do check them out. 


Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram . My competition will be coming up real soon. 

Disclaimer: I received store credit from The Makeup Network, which I redeemed to purchase this product, but this does not affect my review. This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own. 

9 thoughts on “Cover FX Custom Enhancer Drops Sunlight Review ”

  1. Aaaw man. This looks heavenly. I’ve been wanting to try it out for soo long but the price is quite steep. I have my eye on moonlight 😍. Thanks for the review hun 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

