Makeup, Reviews

Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick Review

As promised in my June Lipstick Additions blog post, I finally got around to writing my review of the Colourpop Ultra Matte lipstick for you all today.


Colourpop released back in 2014 and have since blown up social media with their fun, affordable and wide variety of products. They currently boast 4.7million followers on Instagram and their recent new releases has got everyone (including me) swooning. They have rapidly become one of the most popular brands for liquid lipsticks.

Packaging:

The packaging is quite standard. It comes in a clear tube, which is great as it allows you to see the actual color when looking through your lipstick stash. The tube has holographic writing on the side which reads 'Colourpop Ultra Matte'. I don't know what it is with the writing, but it rubs off SO easily. The bottom of the tube specifies the name, in this case, Beeper. The tube has a silver cap and comes in a white cardboard box with the name and ingredients listed on it. It contains 0.11 oz product.

Applicator:
The applicator is doe-foot and pretty standard as well. I have noticed though, that this applicator compared to my old ColourPop lipstick applicator is different. Its not as plastic-ey, is shorter and way more furry. I prefer this applicator more than the previous ones, actually. I guess ColourPop is improving where they can. Kudos, ColourPop, kudos! *starts slow clap*

Formula:

The formula of these are quite lovely. They're thin but not watery/runny. It's beautifully opaque and one layer of this color is enough to cover even the most pigmented lips, as the color is not very light. I apply 2 layers, just for good measure. Because the formula is so thin though, applying 2 layers is easy and doesn't end up felling thick at all. I wouldn't advise using more than 2 layers, as it may then crumble due to too much product being layered. There is s a slight vanilla and chemical scent but it isn't overpowering and goes away after application.

Performance & Longevity:

When I first applied this I really liked the color on my lips. It's described as a warm mid-tone taupe. After applying it takes about a minute – a minute and a half to dry completely. If you make any mistake and the lipstick dries, it is a bit difficult to correct it. Just be sure to apply slowly and accurately. Use a lipliner for extra precision.
Once it dried it felt lightweight and comfortable on my lips. It is drying to a certain extent but it didn’t leave my lips feeling parched or stiff, nor did it settle into fine lines/crack. I cannot tell you guys how much I hate liquid lipsticks that are so drying your lips feels like sandpaper. This lipstick thankfully didn't feel that way. It does tranfer when eating oily foods/drinking, but mostly just in the centre of your lips.

I noticed that after about 3 hours though, this particular shade oxidized on me. It might be because my lips are pigmented to some extent. Usually with liquid lipsticks the color goes on normal then dries a tiny tinge darker, and that's okay with me, but oxidation isn't fun. Other than that though, I really enjoy Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks. They last comfortably about 5 hours on me (if I'm not eating oily foods). I usually touch up in the centre of my lips once I've eaten, but I found that on some days touching up would cause a bit of crumbliness on the edges of my lips. So instead, before touching up I remove it all and re-apply. I find this method keeps my lips looking smooth and crumble free. My sister on the other hand doesn't get any crumbliness when re-applying, so I guess it only applies to some people (including me). Just remember, if you're wearing (any brand) liquid lipstick, always always exfoliate your lips first and apply a lip balm to moisturize your lips. This will help you achieve an even, smooth application. I always exfoliate and moisturize. For me it's a definite must, to insure that my lips are ready for the lip product's matte finish. I usually exfoliate my lips before applying any makeup, then apply some lip balm. Once my lip balm is applied I start doing my face makeup. By the time I am done with my face (I always do my lips last) my lips are feeling soft and nicely hydrated. Sometimes I will apply the liquid lipstick over the lip balm, but this often decreases wear time. So more often than not I just take a tissue and blot the remaining lip balm off my lips then go in with my liquid lipstick. This way the lipstick lasts longer.

It can be a bit difficult to remove, so just a heads up if you struggle to remove this lipsticks, opt to use an oil based makeup remover.

Overall:

I really like the formula of these. For the price it's real nice. I love the wide selection of colors available. There are so so many shades available I can positively say there is a shade for everyone. Did I mention Colourpop liquid lipsticks are crazy pigmented? Because man, the color pay-off is insane! If you're someone who loves matte lipstick, you should definitely give these a go. If you have extremely dry lips though, I would suggest you try the Lippie Stix instead because it is more hydrating and doesn't dry completely making it comfortable on drier lips. Another thing to note is that some of the Colourpop Ultra Matte shades are darker on the lips than they are in the tube and they look different on different skintones. You can't always depend on online swatches because often they're not accurate. Skin tone and lip color is definitely a factor too. However, checking online swatches specifically on a skin tone very similar to yours does help a lot. From the shades I've tried so far, only 3 of them didn't suit me completely. Since then I search online swatches of a certain color on medium dark skin (like mine). Often there aren't any images, but YouTube videos instead. The videos work just as well. Once you see a color you like, I definitely recommend you take the plunge and try this brand out. Jump on the Colourpop band-wagon and let's all be fellow ColourPoppers!

Where To Purchase:

You can purchase Colourpop Ultra Mattes from Best Beauty Buys here. They only have a few left in the following shades:

  • Bianca
  • Mars
  • Beeper
  • Limbo
  • Bumble
  • More Better
  • Wild Nothing
  • Creeper
  • 1st Base
  • Bad Habit
  • The Twirl
  • Notion

Colourpop Ultra Satin lips:

  • Hutch

They also have the Colourpop Lippie Stix:

  • Pitch
  • Grunge
  • Taurus

Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lips:

  • Sookie

Colourpop Pressed Powder Face Duo's;

  • The Knockout
  • Done Deal

Check out my review on both of these palettes here.
(These palettes are available in store)

Best Beauty Buys will soon be stocking some products from the new ColourPop releases. Who's excited? *raises both my hands*

Have you tried Colourpop Ultra Matte lips before? What's your favorite shade?

5 thoughts on “Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick Review”

Leave a Reply

