How To, Reviews

How To Take Professional Blog Pictures

Before I get into today’s post, I just wanted to answer a frequently asked question.

I’ve had so many people ask me how I take my blog pictures and why I don’t take it with a marble background. The reason why I don’t take my pictures on a marble paper/desk is because even though it looks pretty, I felt the need to incorporate a bit of my personality into my pictures – to make it my own. I love nature and vintage things, and so I thought “well why not use nature and rustic things as a background for majority of my images?” And that’s where my photography style was born. Yes, some of my readers did let me know that other bloggers are copying my photography style, and while it does irk me a bit I feel like my readers all know where the style came from originally. I am not throwing shade at said bloggers, I am just giving you all an insight as to where and how my photography style was born. I didn’t want my photography to be the typical marble and fairy lights, not because I don’t find it pretty and aesthetically pleasing, oh no, but rather because I wanted something different and a lot more vibrant and also because, well, I’m not the best when it comes to flatlays. I wanted my photography to mirror a bit of my personality, and I am quite happy with the layout and style I’ve discovered for my images thus far. There is still lots to learn and improve on but I love learning and improving on it, as it is so much fun to me, photography.

Yes, when I started out my photography was horrible and I so wished I had someone who could’ve advised me on how to improve. I know the struggle, and so I am hoping today’s post can help some of you with your photography. Also if you guys have any tips/tricks you’ve discovered that you’d like to share, please do so we can all learn a thing or two.

I know it can be difficult to find that something special for your images, so if you aren’t sure or you don’t know what style/layout you want yet, the safest and smartest option in my opinion is a clean white background. While it can be really tricky to get good lighting on a white cardboard or table, I have a fantastic solution for beautiful, clean pictures.

Enter Best Beauty Buys light box studio! *cheers*

So, what is a light box studio, you ask?

A lightbox is like a professional photographer’s studio, only this one is miniature. It eliminates any messy backgrounds and sort of pulls the focus to only the product(s) being photographed, delivering a professional, clean looking image. If you are struggling with good light, it’s no problem because this box comes with an LED light concealed at the top, lending your pictures the perfect lighting for beautiful shots every time.

It comes in a little bag, and once opened you just have to unfold it and put it together.

It’s really easy to assemble and has magnets on the sides which keeps it upright.

The LED light works with a USB cable, which I think is much better than batteries.

You can plug it into your charger or laptop as you need it. Just connect and shoot!

The light is white (like rings lights) and it is bright and fantastic. The box is not that small, 24 x 24 x 22cm.

It comes with 2 different insertable backgrounds – white and black.

I mean, how genius!? The best part? It’s portable and folds up really small making it easy to travel with.

I tried it and I must say, the quality of the lighting is amazing. The colors and textures all show up clearly meaning you don’t need to adjust your images whilst editing thus saving so much time. I took the below picture in this light box

Do you see how clear and crisp it is? I wish I had one of these when I started my blog. It would have helped me out so much!

Do You Really Need It?

Yes. Yes yes yes. I honestly think this is a must have for bloggers or even people selling products online. It will improve your photography so much, and the best part is, it’s completely fool proof and really easy to use. Your images will look clean and professional, as it should. There’s no complicated way to take the picture, just stick the product in the light box and shoot away. You don’t have to worry about lighting, because the LED light has got you covered, all day, everyday.

Where To Purchase:

When I first saw this I thought “Wow. This is probably going to be pretty expensive” but guys, it retails for only R270 from Best Beauty Buys here! Yes, only R270. I actually thought there was a mistake with the pricing, but nah-ah, it’s real. R270 for something you will definitely use ALL the time? Yes please. I am super impressed with this little box. I think once you try it you guys will see what I mean. It is currently sold out, because you know, it’s amazing, but it will be restocked soon.

Who’s picking up this bad boy once it’s restocked?

11 thoughts on “How To Take Professional Blog Pictures”

    1. Thanks, Nimmi. Ugh flatlays comes easy to some, but to me it is a real struggle 😂

      I know what you mean. I used to struggle a lot too with lighting. If you’ve read my first post on the Beauty Treats Matte Blush palette you’ll see how terrible my lighting is. This light box makes taking pictures so much easier. It’s such a cool gadget!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. Really? I haven’t seen any reviews on this so far. But for me personally it works great. The white light is my favorite thing. I hate how sometimes lighting can look yellow on a white background.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ya I saw reviews on Instagram a few months ago when I was researching it. Well maybe more comments on the image from people that said they bought it. REally looks great based on your review though. I have a pic currently from my last 5 pics on Instagram that makes me cringe. lol. The lighting is such an issue for me because I take pics in my office, but I get NO light in here. That day I was in a hurry and I literally cringe looking at the pic, but I needed something to post….Oi.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

